Like us on Facebook!


November 16, 2024

UPHA American Royal National Championship Horse Show 

Kansas City, MO

For specific competition information, please visit the American Royal website here.

Consider supporting the USEF Saddle Seat Medal Finals with a donation today.



USEF Saddle Seat Medal Classes are open to Junior Members in good standing who have not reached their 18th birthday in accordance with GR128. No credit will be given for winnings before a competitor becomes a member. The first place winner is eliminated from further qualifying classes during that year. A rider must place first through fourth in a USEF Saddle Seat Medal qualifying class to be eligible to compete in the Final. To fill a class, two competitors must show with proper appointments. One win eliminates the rider from further competition in this class for the remainder of the qualifying season.


List of riders qualified for the USEF Saddle Seat Medal Final. The 2024 qualification period runs from 10/28/2023 to 10/26/2024. View a list of 2024 competitions that are hosting the qualifying classes HERE

Morgan riders, click here to find an AMHA Medal class near you to qualify! 

Arabian riders may qualify for the Saddle Seat Medal final by competing at the Scottsdale Arabian Horse Show, Ohio Buckeye Sweepstakes & NSHR District Championships, and the Arabian and Half-Arabian Youth National Championships in designated classes. 

For a full list of the newly approved qualifying criteria, please visit the 2023 USEF Saddle Seat Medal Final specifications document below. 

The History 

The American Horse Shows Association (AHSA) Equitation Medal was established in 1937 by the fourth President of AHSA, Adrian Van Sinderen, as part of his strategy to connect horse people across the United States. The original Van Sinderen trophy was awarded to the Junior Equitation rider who accumulated the most points in AHSA Medal classes in a given competition year. At that time, Saddle Seat, Hunt Seat and Stock Seat riders were all vying for one trophy, often riding against one another in the same class. In 1948, the classes were divided into the individual riding disciplines. Van Sinderen had two more trophies made, one for Hunt Seat, and the other for Stock Seat. The Saddle Seat discipline retained the original Van Sinderen Trophy. In 1950, the Medal Final was fashioned into the prestigious competition format we now know, with qualifying classes and a Final to determine the overall winner. The pattern or tests at the Final, are considered to be the most difficult in saddle seat equitation, highlighting the true top performers of the discipline.


For questions concerning the USEF Saddle Seat Medal program please contact:

Emily McSweeney



Forms and Publications

2024 USEF Saddle Seat Medal Final Specifications

Specifications document containing qualifying criteria and competition format for the final.

Past USEF Saddle Seat Medal Final Champions

Past USEF Saddle Seat Medal Final Champions. The winner of the USEF Saddle Seat Medal Final will get their name engraved on the original Adrian Van Sinderen Trophy alongside a prestigious list of prior champions, as well as, the Helen K. Crabtree perpetual bronze.