• Share:

U.S. Athletes Compete for Land Rover/USEF CCI5* Eventing National Championship Presented by Mars Equestrian

by US Equestrian Communications | Apr 9, 2019, 4:43 PM

The Roger Haller Trophy was awarded for the first time in 2018 by US Equestrian CEO Bill Moroney (center)
Photo: Taylor Pence/US Equestrian

The Land Rover Kentucky Three-Day Event presented by Mars Equestrian doesn’t just host an international eventing competition. It’s also the home of the Land Rover/USEF CCI5* Eventing National Championship presented by Mars Equestrian, with that coveted title going to the highest-placed U.S. athlete at the competition.

The winner of the Land Rover/USEF CCI5* Eventing National Championship presented by Mars Equestrian earns the Roger Haller Trophy, named for the late Roger Haller, an internationally respected course designer, event organizer, judge, and technical delegate. Haller, who was an alternate rider for the U.S. squad for the 1972 Munich Olympic Games, designed the cross-country courses for the 1978 World Championships in Lexington, Ky., and the 1996 Atlanta Olympic Games, making him only the third person ever to design courses at those two major events.

The bronze trophy was created by Kerry Millikin, a 1987 Kentucky Three-Day Event winner and 1996 Olympic individual bronze medalist.


Land Rover/USEF CCI5* Eventing National Champions

2018 Marilyn Little/RF Scandalous

2017 Phillip Dutton/Mr. Medicott

2016 Lauren Kieffer/Veronica

2015 Phillip Dutton/Fernhill Cubalawn

2014 Lauren Kieffer/Veronica

2013 Buck Davidson/Ballynoe Castle RM

2012 Allison Springer/Arthur

2011 Sinead Halpin/Manoir de Carneville

2010 Phillip Dutton/Woodburn

2009 Buck Davidson/My Boy Bobby

2008 Phillip Dutton/Connaught

2007 Phillip Dutton/Connaught

2006 Heidi White/Northern Spy

2005 Kim Severson/Winsome Adante

2004 Kim Severson/Winsome Adante

2003 Buck Davidson/Mystic Mike

2002 Kim Severson/Winsome Adante

2001 David O’Connor/Giltedge

2000 David O’Connor/Rattle N Hum

1999 Karen O’Connor/Prince Panache

1998 Dorothy Crowell/Molokai